In Regards to Orlando…

I really wanted to post a video of this rant, because I don’t know that I can truly capture the essence of pissed I am through written word. But for now, this will have to do.

I was stunned when I heard about Orlando’s shooting. I was angry. I couldn’t find the words to respond. But I have those words now, and this rant is for the church. Let me just say in advance now that for the duration of this post, when I say “the church,” I’m not referring to your church, or my church, or their church specifically. I’m speaking to the church of the world, the body of Christ as a whole. And that means everyone from the pastors to the followers, and to the Christians who think they’re Christians because they show up on Easter Sunday.

What happened in Orlando was a Muslim-rooted attack. I get that. That’s not the point. People are pissed at what religion did to the gay community. And quite frankly, I am too. Religion is what condemns people, sends sinners to hell, and it’s religion that nailed Jesus to the cross. Religion condemns me and tells me I’m too far gone. But there’s a cross that tells me I can never be too far gone. So I hate religion, and I abandoned it a long time ago in pursuit of Jesus, because he was the only hope I had to be saved.

That does not mean I’m free to live in sin. It means I’m dead to sin, and I now live in Christ.

There are people out there who are celebrating the massacre that happened in Orlando. There are people who call it a victory. One pastor even went so far as to say on Twitter, “Thank God for the fifty fags gone from this world.” I just need to stop right there and ask those people, how dare you? Fifty people got gunned down while begging for their lives, and all you had to say was thank God? If that’s you, and you think your god (and that is lowercase for a reason) is happy about this, I don’t have words. Because if He were, if you think heaven truly rejoiced when that disgruntled man took it upon himself to bring those death sentences down on those people, then you don’t believe in Jesus. Or you don’t know him. Show me one time, just one time, in the scriptures that Jesus damned even one sinner, and I will recant this entire website. What that man did, whether he was Christian or Muslim or whatever, was destroy the bridge between sin and salvation. No, God is not happy about that. And there is no celebration in heaven going on for this cold-blooded massacre. So get over yourself, and get over your god, because whatever god you’re serving is not The Lord God.

Now let me say this to the church. Someone was asking me just last night how I felt about homosexuality, and if I thought it was wrong. And to be honest, I don’t know. You all know I preach the gospel of “I don’t know,” so I just stick to what I do know. Here’s what I do know:  I am not going to be the one with a megaphone on the sidewalk sending gay people to hell, or telling them it’s okay. Because I don’t know. I. Don’t. Know. But I’ll say this to the church, and that’s that you don’t know, either. We can look at a couple of verses and say, yeah, homosexuality is wrong… But are you sure? Because I’m pretty sure Scripture also strictly condemns wearing two different types of fabric at the same time, and having sex with a woman while she’s on her period. So what I’m saying to the church, what I’m begging and pleading with them to do, is to give this issue another look. Because something is definitely wrong here, and if our theology is clashing with reality, we have to reevaluate.

Something else I know for sure is this… That God is loving, powerful, all-knowing, and He is righteous. And to those who are truly willing to seek Him and follow Him NO MATTER WHAT, will find loving correction in their lives. And God will convict where conviction is needed. So for now, can we stop telling the gay community that they are damn dirty sinners, and just focus on them in the same way that we would focus on any fellow brother or sister in Christ, or a nonbeliever? Because those who are pursuing Him will find Him. Can we not just encourage them in their pursuit? God will convict where conviction is needed. He does not need us to do it for Him. And then, we don’t have to decide for ourselves who is living in sin and who isn’t. God will handle it.

When we decide to swing God’s sword for Him, we fail to remember that we don’t swing it with the same wisdom of an all-knowing King. I will not be the one to tell the gay community that they’re going to hell. Because if I’m wrong, I’ve kept a lot of people out of church, and may have kept them from ever coming to Christ. And if I do that, I will have to face God one day with their blood on my hands. And if I tell them God is okay with something He has forbidden, and those people end up in hell because of my words that reinforced their sin, then I will have to face God one day with their blood on my hands. I won’t do it. I refuse to do it. Instead, I will tell the world that eternity is a lot to gamble with, whether it’s your own or someone else’s. So stop it.

Seriously, stop it.

I am making a declaration on this site as of right now. I’ve said in previous posts that homosexuality was wrong, and I want to sincerely from my heart apologize. I swung that sword. I pray you forgive me. And from this point forward, you will not find a single word of condemnation from me. Because God loves you. God loves you. He LOVES you. And I do, too. This mission of this site when it was first launched was to share that love I found in Christ. I want to remain on that mission.

God be with the grieving families tonight. God be with the broken people, the saints and the sinners. God be with those who are persecuted.

You are loved. And that’s a gospel I know.

6 thoughts on “In Regards to Orlando…

  1. I love your message. It’s truly how I feel. I once was in the middle of right and wrong not knowing and still I don’t know truly about that touchy topic too. Anywho I can say I once was bi- or bi-curious in the high school years. But I try not to think about or preach that stuff because it’s much better to be sure others know God Loves us all.

      • (On further prayer and reflection, I am okay with the posted comments remaining up for other readers (as you mentioned you’d like to). I appreciate your willingness to remove them, when asked – so I will leave it up to you whether you want them to remain.)

        Okay, as there is moderation I will make this comment, more as a personal response. Preferable if you delete it given the circumstances of the Orlando shooting that we are discussing, which is a great tragedy.

        A scriptural response more appropriate, however, may be: Luke 13:1-5 which I’ll quote here so you don’t have to look it up:
        1 There were present at that season some that told him of the Galilaeans, whose blood Pilate had mingled with their sacrifices.

        2 And Jesus answering said unto them, Suppose ye that these Galilaeans were sinners above all the Galilaeans, because they suffered such things?

        3 I tell you, Nay: but, except ye repent, ye shall all likewise perish.

        4 Or those eighteen, upon whom the tower in Siloam fell, and slew them, think ye that they were sinners above all men that dwelt in Jerusalem?

        5 I tell you, Nay: but, except ye repent, ye shall all likewise perish.

        The issue, you are correct, is not that they are greater sinners than others, not that the thing done was the wrath of God. If so, what does that mean of the Christians who were targeted former shootings?

        A problem here, as I see it, however is that in these days the church is becoming more and more accepting of homosexuality insofar as there are LGBT churches, and people who believe themselves to be saved when they are not. This is not only a problem within homosexual circles, I think that there are many who believe themselves to be saved simply because they have accepted some creed or ideology, but who are not born again.

        Directly speaking on whether or not homosexuality is a sin: it is called an ‘abomination’ in scripture, which makes it pretty serious, unlike breaking the sabbath, eating pork, or whatever. It is also described plainly as sin in the new testament. (See my post: https://pnuematicrain.wordpress.com/2016/06/02/can-christians-be-gay/)

        Now the church is caught into a difficult situation here, and one with eternal consequences, as you described (why you don’t want to ‘pick a side’ unless you absolutely know what the Truth is – that is good). But in MINISTRY it is an essential function to confirm what is True, and disclaim what is false, there are very serious warnings in scripture about that. (I.E. you may have the option to say you don’t know, but for those God has set into office ministry, they don’t get that privilege, they have to know, and preach the Truth. Yet, Christians are supposed to depict Christ, and the Truth of the Gospel in this world, so I would be wary of saying quite the way you did as well (please take no offense to my saying so))

        Instances like this are prickly situations because the tendency is to slip into compromise on something that we know is True because we want to sympathize with someone else. That really should not be an issue to the church, we should be able to sympathize with people, and reach out to them in love regardless of their lifestyle (one reason I like the Salvation Army’s General Booth). Yet in Christ we must declare the Truth (1 Thess. 2:11).

        I don’t know if that is helpful to you at all, or if I just seem like one of the bigoted Christians in this instance. I’d have sent a private message if there was a format for it that I was aware of. That’s why I checked to see if you had moderation set up before posting.

  2. Hey, man. I totally respect what you have to say, and I won’t delete it (unless you really want me to). My first reaction in reading your comment was, “My point was made!” And then I realized, it’s really easy for people to speak facing the pulpit than it is to speak from behind it.

    I’ve seen pastors come under so much fire, publicly and in my own community, for things they’ve said or done, innocent things, that have brought harsh words and judgements. I know there are corrupt leaders, but they aren’t nearly as common as people think. And speaking for the majority, I know the hearts of our leaders are good.

    Touchy subject are always hard on you guys. And I believe you handle them with the conviction God gives you. That’s all any of us can ask for.

Leave a Reply

